VOTE FOR CARA!  Since CARA receives no governmental funding and relies solely on individual and business donations, contests are important to us!  We appreciate your patience and dedication to CARA in this contest and others.

Help CARA win in the $300,000 Shelter Challenge.  

Shelter Challenge


How long is the Challenge, and how can we increase our chances?
This voting round begins on January 7, 2013, and ends at midnight (PT) on April 28, 2013. There will be other voting rounds throughout the year - more chances for CARA to win! The more friends you can rally to vote for CARA, the better our chances of winning. Every vote, every day counts - shelters can pull ahead even during the last few days with enough support. Get people involved! CARA rescue organization is counting on you!

What kind of grant could CARA win?
Sixty-eight (68) grants will be awarded for a total of $75,000 to eligible members during the fourth voting round of the 2011 Challenge. The grand prize will go to the eligible organization with the highest accumulative votes for the duration of the Challenge as specified in the rules.

The Prizes Are:
Grand Prize:  One $5,000 grant!
Heartwarming Story Contest:  Three $2,000 grants!
State Winners*:  Fifty-one $1,000 state grants
  (50 U.S. states and Washington D.C.)
Canadian Winners*:  One $1,000 grant will be awarded.
International Winner*:  One $1,000 grant will be awarded.
Weekly Winners*  Eleven $1,000 grants will be awarded, one for each week of this voting round of the Shelter+ Challenge.

Under the rules of the 2011/2012 Shelter+ Challenge:
  · No group may win more than one Grand Prize in 2011/2012. Winners of the Grand Prize are not eligible for state or regional grants during the same voting round, but are eligible for all other prizes.
  · Weekly Winners are not eligible for Regional (State, Canadian, or International) awards during the same voting round. Weekly Winners are not excluded from Grand prizes and Special prizes.
  · The Challenge Champion of the previous year is ineligible for Grand prizes during the current year. The previous year's Challenge Champion remains eligible for other prizes, including weekly or state prizes.